The Athletic comes to ATL

ATL1

Helluva Engineer
The fact that GT is sharing a beat writer when the Braves have three is ridiculous.

CuseJacket

Administrator
Staff member

I liked this intro article from Shultz as it attempts to get at the heart of what The Athletic aspires to be (real media coverage) vs. what a lot of media has become (click-bait and loaded with advertisements).

TechCubed

Helluva Engineer
That AJ Gray story is a good example of the type of writing they do, going well beyond just 4-5 paragraph blog. I've been subscribing for a few months, and it's well worth it. They aren't really in the business of trying to break news but offer in-depth coverage and analysis instead. Newspapers used to be able to do both, but the economic realities have them churning out "content" for clicks. Up until the last 5 years or so, the AJC had two beat writers for GT and then another few writers and a columnist for games. Not the case anymore.

Hope that The Athletic can be successful. It's grown a lot in the last year with some very good writers.

MidtownJacket

Staff member
Thanks for letting us know about The Athletic, I just signed up for the 1st year deal. Since moving to Houston I feel like I miss a lot of the news around GT's programs so am looking forward to reading the content they put out. Hopefully if we get a loyal following there we can even see more GT Related content

JacketFromUGA

Helluva Engineer
https://theathletic.com/227557/

Why The Athletic has a paywall

Since launching The Athletic NHL and The Athletic Toronto more than a year ago, I’ve consistently received two different reactions to what The Athletic has started in 15+ markets across North America.

The first response has been very positive. Most people get it, like it and are on-board, with supportive comments, suggestions for great writers to add to our team, and ideas on how we can improve.

We love those people.

The second group?