Interesting article from AJC

Vespidae

Helluva Engineer
The article reminds me that more games are lost than those that are won.

Games are lost due to penalties (Citadel), missed assignments, and poor coaching decisions.

You’re beat when you are completely outmatched physically.

I think this year we lost two because we beat ourselves. As we recruit and gain strength, we should improve.

Augusta_Jacket

Staff member
I've long said you can look at the record in one possession games to see how truly good a team is. Some teams overachieve and some are snakebitten. Luck plays a small role in football, but over time tends to even out. I've been tracking this every year since 2002 for GT, and our overall record since then is 130-102. Our record in one possession games is 45-44 during that span. (CCG went 16-13, CPJ went 28-31, and CGC is 3-2 so far.) When a season is grossly out of whack in the one possession W/L total, you can expect a regression to the mean. For instance, CPJ started out his career her at GT with a 1P W/L record of 10-3 in 2008-2009. That indicates that the football bounced decidedly our way for those two seasons. He went 9-12 from 2010-2013, 3-3 in 2014, 1-6 in 2015, and 6-5 his last three years. I don't know that any of this really enters the above article, as Ken includes more subjective stats, but it does go to prove that things are rarely as good or bad as they seem. I've included my chart below.

upload_2019-12-3_9-4-41.png

Deleted member 2897