REDDIT: Comprehensive Breakdown of CPJ's Offense

Techster

Helluva Engineer
If you're still grasping at the concepts and dynamics of our offense after 8+ years, well here's a pretty darn good good write up about it, with links to videos illustrating the concepts being discussed. Quite possibly the most extensive write up written about the Flexbone in one sitting:

Enjoy.

Cam

Helluva Engineer
That user posts occasionally in r/CFB as well. He really clears up a lot of misconceptions people have over there. I think he did a similar write up before the Army/Navy game.

takethepoints

Helluva Engineer
We also run an outside veer. The play Lucas Cox scored on in the so-fine 2008 Miami game was an outside veer. The only difference is that the BB aims at the outside shoulder of the OT instead of the inside. Maybe I'm wrong; I'm no expert on the Xs and Os. Still, I find the bofins here making the difference.

He also leaves out the speed option. He seems to be subsuming that play under the rocket toss. But it's a double option play, not a straight toss.

stylee

Ramblin' Wreck
Featured Member
I don't know that I've seen us run an OSV, but I could be wrong. Generally, you run OSV if you have a tightend who blocks down on the defensive end, leaving you a gap to read the outside backer on the give/keep

AE 87

Helluva Engineer
I don't know that I've seen us run an OSV, but I could be wrong. Generally, you run OSV if you have a tightend who blocks down on the defensive end, leaving you a gap to read the outside backer on the give/keep

IIuc, our belly option (keep-pitch double option) might look like an outside veer especially since our belly (B-Back give) runs off a similar motion. Does that seem close to you?

takethepoints

Helluva Engineer
I think this is an outside veer. It's Day's TD from the Orange Bowl.