Georgia Tech's potential return to national prominence

TheGridironGeek

Jolly Good Fellow
Gents -- I want to posit some thoughts before the big weekend. What I think is exciting is not so much Tech having a 10-2 record, but the overall direction the program is going in.

I'm not an expert on CPJ's years at Georgia Southern, but if you look at the schools where Johnson has founded a tradition of Flexbone coaches, what stands out is how great they have all looked when playing athletically comparable teams. For Navy this doesn't happen often. They are usually up against far superior players across the board, but find a way to go to a decent bowl game every year.

When Navy plays a very weak FBS or strong FCS program, they are facing their own level of size and talent. Typical score: Navy 55, Rice 12.

Under Jeff Monken (CPJ disciple) Georgia Southern played about their level of talent in the strongest conference in the FCS. They were a perennial contender and eventually beat Florida, despite a laughable athletic disadvantage. Then, of course GaSo won their conference (and scared the pants off two ACC schools) by introducing Tony Annese concepts at the FBS level.

And of course GT has handily beat teams who are evenly matched talent-wise. GT has developed a few more standout performers but only one (Smelter) would be considered a lock high NFL draft pick. In an effective offense, players are glorified in the media who are no better on an individual level than their counterparts.

The 'Jackets struggled to win against a couple of lesser-athletic teams early this year, Wofford and GaSo. But of course, those teams also run "high school" systems, full-time 11 on 11 deception running schemes. So what you have is a small group of teams playing "high school" offense, almost always beating the schools they are evenly matched with, and often bothering or beating far physically superior opponents.