Brent Key is not the answer

diehard

Georgia Tech Fan
How can anyone who follows college football think Brent Key is the answer to Ga. Tech's problems. I have been a season ticket holder for several years. Though I have a Masters degree, it is not from GA. Tech. But at 61, I love GA. Tech so much I took 1 class on-line just to have a GA. Tech certificate on my wall. Saying that, I'm at the point I an giving my 4 tickets away every home game to a family that needs a day out. The Bowling Green game set the program back years. No program, not one, has succeeded without bringing in a high-profile coach with a winning proven record. The powers that be at Tech don't seem to have the interest in building the program. You can love or hate Deion, Tech should have paid whatever it costs to get him in Atlanta. Tech has no talent. No coaches. No student support. Brent Key, who is probably a good guy, was a cheap hire for Tech. Not one who can change the program and recruit. I have more GA. Tech memorabilia than anyone I know. But Tech has reached an all time low. The only hope is they lose until the powers are willing to pay for a program with top quality coaches and players.

Lotta Booze

Ramblin' Wreck
No program, not one, has succeeded without bringing in a high-profile coach with a winning proven record.
There's plenty to gripe about after the BG loss, and losses like that are embarrassing which tend to bring out people to pile on but the above quote is demonstrably false.
Orgeron did not have a proven winning record when he was hired and led LSU to a natty, same with Chizik.
Chadwell found great success at Coastal Carolina and was not a high profile coach by any means.
Norvell at FSU is finding success and he did have a winning record but I wouldn't quite say he was high profile.

Hell, you could argue Kirby didn't have a winning proven record as he was never a head coach prior and there are plenty of examples of Saban coordinators not working out.