Film Room Tax 3 Defense Slow Motions

Longestday

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
Keep in mind with your comments that these are our student athletes that sweat blood on bobby Dodd field every Saturday in the fall!

1979jacket

Ramblin' Wreck
Jeez louise - the run game needs support from the secondary you know. I thought we made it a tough 5 yards to get and the CB made a great play coming up and the nickel made a good tackle.

RonJohn

Helluva Engineer
#20 too slow to read and react. Could have been a TFL if he had had his eyes on the slot from the get go and reacted immediately.

really? I'm not good at dissecting defense, but it looks to me like he is lined up in a LB spot on that play. I assume he was supposed to support against runs. At slow speed, he turned his shoulder before the ball was being thrown, and was running toward the slot receiver before the ball left the QB's hands. I believe the slot receiver was supposed to be guarded by #4? the safety. The buddy I go to the games with complains constantly about the coverage being 10-15 yards off of the receivers. In this case it was 12.5 yards off of the line of scrimmage.

tech_wreck47

Helluva Engineer
All I'm going to say is our guys better get their eyes in the right place this year or we could be in trouble on D again. The QB did not even fake to the RB and we had LB's and another taking a step or more inside. If that play is read right it should /could have been a stop of 2 yards or less. That's why Bama, Clemson and the other top D's are so good, they don't get fooled as often with that stuff.

tech_wreck47

Helluva Engineer