Ranking College Football’s Open Head Football Coaching Jobs for 2022-2023

slugboy

Staff member
GT ranks 5th, says Athlon:

We had an AD hired when they wrote an article saying that we didn’t have an AD hired yet. Maybe they’re not doing good research?

Other Factors of Note: In addition to Collins, athletic director Todd Stansbury was fired. How quickly can Georgia Tech find a replacement for Stansbury? And will they be hired before the new coach?

GTRambler

Helluva Engineer
Article was published on Nov. 7th.

Just thought it was interesting to know about the other vacant head football coaching jobs that are out there.

RamblinRed

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
Other than switching Neb and WI i'd likely list the currently open jobs in the same order.
You can make an argument for GT above AZ ST, but there are sort of in a tier together and their lists will be different.

rfjeff9

Jolly Good Fellow
IDK, if I was a coach looking to make a splash and perhaps stepping stone to the next level, Auburn the least desirable. LSU Bama and UGA every year? No thanks. Plus the fan base is irrational with expectations. It's a firing job.

Unless the objective is to get a fat contract and collect when the axe comes, I would stay away from this one.

CEB

Helluva Engineer
Unless the objective is to get a fat contract and collect when the axe comes, I would stay away from this one.
I don’t think that is the OBJECTIVE for anyone, but when this is the reality when the primary objective fails, it’s pretty easy to justify taking a shot. That’s the big difference in college football programs right now; several can afford to make high priced mistakes with little repercussion. The rest have to be a lot more discerning ... mistakes can impact the budget significantly for years.

Techster

Helluva Engineer