Judith Curry questions recent popular & peer-reviewed Global Warming Report

AE 87

Helluva Engineer
http://judithcurry.com/2015/03/05/2-new-papers-on-the-pause/

Included in this blog post are a critique of Scientific American claiming that the pause is explained and Mann et al study.

As has been noted in previous posts, this GT prof has been critiqued (and applauded) from both sides of the debate/discussion. I post this for the sake of those who suspect all support of the "consensus" is good science and all critiques are not.

jwsavhGT

Helluva Engineer
Retired Staff
All I can say is I'm glad I'm an accountant, not a scientist. Debits & credits make sense to me, not scientific jargon.

AE 87

Helluva Engineer
All I can say is I'm glad I'm an accountant, not a scientist. Debits & credits make sense to me, not scientific jargon.

Yeah, unfortunately, it seems that much of the popular reporting on science banks on people not understanding it. In the last 15 years industry has probably cranked more CO2 into the atmosphere than in any period in history yet global temperatures have remained largely unchanged. CO2 simply isn't forcing climate change to the extent claimed by popular science reporting or the "consensus" science.

cyptomcat

Ramblin' Wreck
The new Science article by Steinman, Mann and Miller is not exactly a report in the sense that a committee came together and produced some sort of consensus document (as in IPCC reports). This is just a new paper by Steinman et al.

The media articles are for sure horrible, unfortunately that's far too common. Especially about this new paper being novel or suddenly explaining everything...

Curry herself introduced the basis of this 'new' explanation in 2013. Her work with Wyatt brought the idea of Atlantic Multidecadal Oscillation (AMO) to prominence.