A good read.... yes, believe it or not, from the AJC (Link)

DeepSnap

GT Athlete
I normally wouldn't bother with an AJC article, but since the legacy issue has been raised in this forum on many occasions, here's a very good answer for "Have we gotten too big for our britches?"

And I love the line: "Conversely, Tech could become even more elite/MIT-like, and forget the practical part. To which I will remind them, as always--"Engineers put planes on flight lines, PhDs put unread papers on library shelves.""

Link

Deleted member 2897

I didn't make it all the way through. There is a lot of butt hurt in that article. People saying Tech should be this way and that way and easier to get into and my little Johnny should get in because I did. Well life is not fair. I made Tech's reputation because of how hard I worked to stay in school and graduate, and how hard I worked after I graduated. Now people that come after me are smarter than I was, the school is harder to get into, and my degree is even worth more. Yippee. My son could go to Tech and he wants to (he's 13). My wife and I met at Tech and we want him to go to Tech. But if he doesn't get in we'll be sad. BUT SO WHAT. There are other schools in the world. Its not worth taking 20 AP classes and ruining high school to try and get in. Life is about more than burying yourself in books. Go to Clemson, NC State, MIT, Duke - there are dozens of other good engineering schools. The level of entitlement some people have about themselves is crazy.

herb

Helluva Engineer