What would you like to see President Cabrera implement to raise our athletic excellence?

GTpdm

Helluva Engineer
This is the one thing that we could change that would certainly change the trajectory of every single GT sport. If we could just have 1 or 2 majors that were doable for the vast majority of HS high level recruits (I typed elite and simply had to delete it and use a different word). We will never be able to recruit with the current curriculum. It is the product you sell, not the person who is selling it. If you are selling a product that a person wants, you will sell it. If you are selling a product they don’t want, You will not no matter how good of a sell’s man you are. Recruits want to go pro. They don’t want anything getting in the way of that. Hard academics get in the way of the or, at the very least, do not help in that goal and are….hard. No way to effectively, repeatable sell that product to that person. Example, I am a lawyer. NO WAY would I have gone to TECH knowing that I wanted to go to law school. It presents too many challenges to get into law school. The reason I went to Tech is because I thought I wanted to be an engineer (CE ‘02). Luckily my decent grades and very good LSAT score got me in to law school. Now, if I had the goal of law school from the beginning I would have gotten a degree in criminal justice at OM. I was an athletic tutor while in law school at OM. I tutor anything math and criminal justice. The testing in the CJ was basically 10 words on one side of the page and 10 definitions on the other side of the page and they would draw lines to the definition that matched the word. Most football players were getting a degree in criminal justice. I can remember 1 athlete that I was tutoring in calculus 2. He was a football player on scholarship who didn’t really play. He was using his scholarship to get an engineering degree. I also tutored a wide receiver who played in the NFL for over 10 years. He was taking pre-algebra and reall