Miami and the Cross Charge

Longestday

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
I am re-watching the Miami 2013 game and they are cross charging a lot. The normal read would be to keep on a cross charge.

One difficulty is they are not taking the BB on the cross charge, but going for the QB.

We are able to get by them a few times because the DE does not play his assignment and allows the pitch to the A back.

I guess the only way to burn them on the cross charge taking the QB is to give to the BB despite the cross charge? A rocket toss could burn the cross charging OLB. A speed option is another option? The BB could hit the cross charging LB.

Any other solutions?

AE 87

Helluva Engineer
I'm not an expert, but I think the dive read is the 1st D on the line outside the PS OG. So, you could just read him instead of DE.

Longestday

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
You have to be able to read the cross charge. If the DE goes outside, it is a give to the BB. But if the DE goes outside and the OLB goes inside it is a keep as the OLB has the B Back. The OLB is going after the QB and is ignoring the BB.

Big Philly

Jolly Good Fellow
@steebu has posted videos that cover the basic stunts. The QB has to learn to read #1 and #2 at the same time.

With the cross charge the defense is trying to trick the QB to read the DE and give the ball to the B-Back so he can be quickly tackled by the OLB:

The proper read for a cross charge, or "easy stunt" is to keep and quick pitch:

I'm not too worried about the cross charge from Miami since we just finished playing Bud Foster who loves to blitz the cross charge.

GTNavyNuke

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
A missed blocks by #8 and #20 on the second one (Cross Charge Defeated) ...... the scheme gets us the numbers, just have to make the blocks!

Thanks. If we were playing an option team like this, I'd want my OLB to get a good hit on the QB every time he could. If he is going to commit to the QB, they should get something out of it.