2014 MLB Draft

GTNavyNuke

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
The draft starts tomorrow (5 June) and goes to Friday. Two years ago I put together a spreadsheet which list the Perfect Game listing of GT commits and the Perfect Game ranking. I also list what the draft position was for a high school senior who had committed to us (HS), the draft position for a GT Junior (Jr) and a GT Senior (Sr). If there is MLB in the listing, that means the player went to the MLB when drafted, otherwise elected to go or stay at GT.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/mn0b4c4sdectc4d/GT_Baseball_Draft_4_June_2014.pdf

Anyway, I'm no expert but here's who I would expect to be drafted this year:

• GT seniors -
    • Dusty Isaacs has a reasonable shot - he was 1497th out of HS and not drafted last year. I think / hope he gets drafted based on being our go to reliever with a good (1.92) ERA.
    • Matt Grimes is borderline. He was 128th in HS but 948th as a Jr. His ERA this year was 4.39 which hurts. I think Hall may have started Grimes over Parr in the last Washington game to give him a little more exposure.
    • Mott Hyde is borderline. He was drafted 1326th out of HS and not drafted last year. His .282 ERA probably isn't high enough. But we'll see.
  • GT Juniors -
    • AJ Murray may get a late draft but it will be too low to be worth leaving. He was 1450th out of HS. But he needs to get better at batting with only a .283 batting average.
    • Heddinger (3.98 ERA) needs to get the ERA down. Josh was pitching a lot better at the end of the year.
    • Cole Pitts is hurt (Tommy John) and had a 3.18 ERA. I expect for him to come back and have a great year.
  • GT Commits