Who are here on the swarm are sidewalk fans?

Tech Lawyer

Jolly Good Fellow
I grew up as a UGA fan, but Georgia Tech just fit me better during high school. When I started selling programs in the lower east stands in the late seventies, I officially converted to the Jackets. For me it is all about being in my hometown, having a proud tradition and having sports programs that provide a world class education to our student athletes. I love going on the road to these different schools - people respect what Ga Tech stands for. I get goose bumps when we take the field in away games. The upset wins in 2014 in Blacksburg and Athens are two memories that my two sons and I will never forget. It would be a real lift in the Fall if we can start winning some.

Heisman's Ghost

Helluva Engineer
I’m from south ga and now reside in middle ga and I’ve been a die hard tech fan since 1989 and have no affiliation with the school whatsoever. I just love tech football and basketball and was wondering how many on the swarm is like me?
A person with "no affiliation with the school whatsoever..." pretty much fits the definition of a sidewalk fan. Those who are the offspring of alumni, grew up going to Tech games, alumni (obviously), are not true sidewalk fans. UGA is has tens of thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, maybe millions who knows of sidewalk fans. With Tech it has always been a relatively rare species. Although, I did not go to Tech, my father did, as did my brother in law, and I grew up going to Tech games thus, I do not consider myself a true sidewalk fan. Others may differ in their opinion of what constitutes a sidewalk fan.

Heisman's Ghost

Helluva Engineer
Me! Moved to ATL in 84. Became a fan because we lined so close to campus (Vine City) 1989-90 seasons (football/basketball) really did it for me. Moved back to MI in summer of 95. Stayed a Tech fan because everyone up here there a Michigan fan reminded me of every uga fan I met when I lived in GA.