The most disappointing stat from yesterday was...attendance.

GT_05

Helluva Engineer
Our attendance for our season opener was 39,719. I’m not sure if this is the actual attendance or it is the number of tickets sold. Based on the large swaths of empty seats, I believe it is the latter and not the former. The capacity of Wallace Wade Stadium, where Duke plays, is 40,004. We wouldn’t have filled Duke’s Stadium! Why aren’t people coming to the games? For the people that do come, why do so many people come in so late? We want to see our athlete’s best effort and I have to think that the athletes would like to see a better effort from us.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jophish17

Jolly Good Fellow
^ this. I graduated several years ago but this is the first year I didn't buy at least two seats. I'm planning to go to Louisville and VT (would have done USF if it was a night game) and I'll buy tickets to any night games at Bobby Dodd, but my body can't tolerate the noon heat anymore. Some absurd percentage of our kickoffs the past few years have been noon or 1230.

GTBandman

Jolly Good Fellow
We have a fan base that complains about Thursday night games as well. We should always open on Thursday night if playing these kind of games.

Notice that Clemson also played early? Clearly they are not winning enough to play later either.

It was really hot but I was there as usual. The best time of day on Saturday in Sept. is 9 am. I’d vote for that - be the only one on TV at that hour.

stech81

Helluva Engineer
I think the average age of GT fans attending games is 77 years and 3 months. Basically, we have about 1000 fans die a year and about 5 new ones to replace them.
can you look in your crystal ball and tell me how much longer I have to live ?
I know I went to the bathroom 3 times yesterday ( you will understand stand when you get old ) and in the area around there It seemed like each time there was 1,000 people there getting out of the sun most women with kids.