Sidewalk Fans

GT_05

Helluva Engineer
Until recently, I wasn’t familiar with the term “sidewalk fan” and I really don’t care for the term. It is, in my opinion, an unnecessary descriptor. Either a person is a fan of a team or they aren’t.

As a bit of a twist on this issue, I am a GT grad but I feel more like a sidewalk fan. I was part of the now defunct GTREP program. Students in this program would “attend” classes in Atlanta over a satellite feed two days per week and the other days students would go to class at the GT campus in Savannah. Now I live in the Atlanta area and I’m a season ticket holder in football and attend basketball games whenever I can...things I was unable to do as a student. The sad thing is that I feel like I don’t have an identity at GT because of this program I went through. Furthermore, I’ve found it difficult to integrate into the football crowd on game day. I bring this up because this is likely how a “sidewalk fan” feels when coming to campus. Things feel a little cliquey to me so maybe saying hello to a stranger on game day is a good idea. I went to the ND game when we played them in 2015 and a guy walked up to me and said, “Welcome to our campus.” Very classy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tmhunter52

Helluva Engineer
Tailgating is always a good way to meet likeminded people. The smell of barbecue, a good game of corn hole, a few hearty " To Hell With Georgia" shouts are sure to draw others your way. But to prime that pump, contact the AA to locate a local chapter and get involved. Someone in that chapter will be going to the game and would like to see you there...

kg01

Get-Bak! Coach
Featured Member
I don't like the term either. I'm a grad but, like OP said, you're either a fan or not.