Official Ted Roof Discussion Thread

33jacket

Helluva Engineer
26-1.jpg

hair products about as out of date as my defensive scheme

SidewalkJacket

Helluva Engineer
My two opinions on CTR:

1) He is doing wonders for us in recruiting.
2) For whatever reason (design or talent) his defense generates no pass rush.

Which of these two things is more important to you seems to determine your opinions on CTR. Thus, we will forever be divided, it seems...

33jacket

Helluva Engineer
Gosh, it seems like I have been saying it now for 4-5 years. That no matter who is in his defense, his scheme is no good for us and we won't be good on D. We have had flashes, but never in a season can we truly rely on the D it seems for a big stop. Its always a bit of a prayer and more often than not, big 3rd downs from a mile away are converted it seems. Although, the closest maybe was 2015; but it was such an overall dumpster of a season it was so hard to gage.

So I could break from what I have been in general correct about for half a decade on roof, and say we will be better, this year....I could. I mean he is due for one good year. IS this it?

But I will say...as an example. RPO is now big in football. Categorically, across the board, DC's play man vs RPO because it makes the offense false read, it puts one extra man in the box for run, and gives the DB a one on one chance. Last year, statistically vs RPO teams, DC's chose man more than 50% of the time to push them to read poorly and force runs.