Northwestern Univ players can unionize...

OldJacketFan

Helluva Engineer
Question.

If student athletics are employees, who are they employees of, the athletic association or the university? What about GT and UGA etc who are part of the University System of Georgia? Who is the employer?

And, as a previous poster noted, are they liable for federal and state income taxes? As a student I would hate to pay the taxes on a scholarship at Northwestern, $45, 527.00 for 2013-14.

In my mind it would be the legal entity that co signed the LOI. That's the binding contract.

Rodney Kent

Ramblin' Wreck
Let's go back to a more rational day when the recruits were glad to get a free education while playing a game they love, and getting the chance to show their wares to the NFL scouts. Free education, free housing, free food, free medical, personal tutoring, exposure to pro scouts, etal. Right now, they have it all, but are going to kill the chicken that lays the golden egg.

Let's rid colleges and universities of sports and let the NFL, NBA, etal create farm teams such as baseball. If kid wants an education, he can pay his own way just like the other students. The colleges and universities can still have intramural teams for those who would like to participate in some form of sports. Of course, each participant would be responsible for his own injuries if he gets hurt while playing intramural sports.

Also, those playing on the farm teams in the minor leagues of sports, would have to produce or lose their jobs. However, if they lost their job, they have no education to fall back on. As of now, college football is a win-win proposition for the kids.