Legitimate observation/question

GT Tennessee

Jolly Good Fellow
(Not going after Coach Collins) So, just based off of outside observation, I think we may have a Butch Jones situation on our hands. Just all the #s and tag lines, uniforms ect. I’m a graduate of Tennessee and feel as if I’ve seen this same song and dance. However, I do give Coach Collins credit in his time as a great DC on other teams(Butch Jones was never a coordinator). I completely understand and agree with CPJ had become stubborn and lackluster, however, at Georgia Tech we will never out recruit the factories. We saw this under the Chan years when it’s the best we’ve ever recruited a program history . I feel at Georgia Tech we need to be innovative on offense ala the option. I felt that offense gave us an advantage when we played factories. We just needed a fresh coach other than CPJ. I was all for Monken to be our coach. This does not mean I do not want Collins to fail. That’s not what we need as a program. I just feel I’ve seen the same thing before.

The problem as as always been at Tech is our curriculum limits recruiting. Now we have been able to get enough really good guys and develop some to field some pretty good teams in my 50 Tech years. But two things with that. We can get some pretty good 1st teams. But depth beyond that has always been the issue. If we have years with injuries, like 2015 and this year the depth issue becomes reality. As was stated earlier we will never field a team with the kind of talent that UGA, Bama, Auburn etc gets. We have to have schemes that work and better coaching. Dodd outcoached other teams. Friedgen out schemed teams just like CPJ. And on D Tenutta had a scheme that kept us in games during the Pro style Gailey years.

Vespidae

Helluva Engineer
I also attend UT games (where I was in grad school) and Auburn (where I teach).