Got chills watching this

smokey_wasp

Helluva Engineer
I get the sense that Coach Curry was unpopular with a lot of Tech folk for various reasons, but I think time heals a lot of wounds (apparently not all of them) and he has become a good ambassador for us and tries to use his voice to speak to what's right. Dan Wolken even calls him the "conscience of college football". Glad he is a Tech man.

ChristoGT

Jolly Good Fellow
With the Twitter post by GT Football, could it just be that GT asked him be narrate and he followed a script. Actually seems like it might be something that Collins probably asked him to do it. If I was asked, I would be honored to do it. He's still a voice for GT even if he did leave (twice I guess)

Don't know about the times in '64, but I can say the primary reason I graduated from Tech was because said coach in '83 stopped for a minute as he was walking along Techwood Avenue to check on Freshman (in obvious despair) who had just failed his Calculus final (and for that matter the class). After said Freshman told him what had happened, Coach Curry gave some words of encouragement to keep up the fight, etc. and that with hard work anyone can succeed. It was just a quick simple statement, but it was enough to help get this kid through school. He didn't have to stop, and he had just finished a miserable season the week before, so plenty of reason to say "Quit your whining, kid, you don't know what real life is yet". But he did, and I am grateful.

Ibeeballin

Im a 3*
Lebron is 3-6 in NBA Finals. Perfect games generally require incredible defense behind them. Lamar Jackson won a Heisman with one of the worst OLs in the conference. Cam Newton carried a mediocre Auburn team to a title. WRs take running plays off all the time. QBs/RBs make the first man miss all the time.