Competition

Boomergump

Helluva Engineer
Featured Member
I have to be honest and confess that I am mystified somewhat by most fanbases' reaction to losses, or even losing streaks like ours. I want to start by stating the obvious. In our sport there is exactly one winner and one loser in EVERY contest, without exception. Considering that fact, it is prudent to accept in one's mind that losing is, at least, a possibility if you choose to compete. To extend the argument even further and take a closer look at a 3 game losing streak (like the one we are mired in), I ask you to assume equally matched teams. Most would readily concede that the sides of flipped coin are also equally matched. If on one side we put an "L" and on the other a "W" there would be a 1 in 8 chance that 3 L's would come up in a row ( I am a math teacher, trust me). Now considering that seasons are 12 games long, if you are playing schedules filled with equally matched teams, you could expect to have one 3 game losing streak every two seasons. Obviously, there are a lot of variables in CFB that don't present themselves in coin flipping, but I think it helps to look at things that way.

Obviously we don't want to be average and we hope to be superior to our opponents, tipping things in our favor more often than not, resulting in good won loss records.